To my love:

Yes, I know, this is not a poem. Just a quick little note I thought I’d share.

While it is more romantic to say it in Spanish, I like the way “I love you” sounds in English too. It’s too bad it is overused in English, and it can apply to any trivial thing. But there is one thing the English language does as I say it to you, from the bottom of my heart.

It not just a statement when I tell you that I love you. I am not just merely saying that I am the subject and that love is a verb and that you are the object to which the verb applies. Those grammatical references are useless to explain what this phrase entails.

When I say “I love you” I am describing how we are. And it is simple to see. “I” would be alone without “you” but we are connected in this sentence, and in reality, by “love.” It’s what connects us. It’s what make us, us. It’s the reason we are drawn to each other and the reason we will be happy with each other; because there is “love” to hold us together. No matter what happens, and it will make us happy. We have “love”, and it connects us.

Yours Always,

The Observing Poet